Spice Crusted Mahi Mahi Salad

kelley on beachOn Christmas Eve, I returned home from a warm vacation on the beaches of Ecuador. I was there visiting my boyfriend partway through his motorcycle journey from Columbia to Argentina. Now I would be lying if I said I don’t love bread (shit bro…who don’t!) but it seriously makes me feel like crap so I try not to eat it. It seems like every meal we were served in Ecuador was all about bread or rice. I did indulge but I also had some of the most amazing seafood ever! Ceveche was my favorite preparation. Whenever I return home from a trip I try to recreate some of the flavors of what I ate and put my own twist on it.  Now that the holidays are over,  I am trying to get back into my normal eating pattern so I decide to post this delicious simple salad for you all to enjoy!

mahi mahi

Spice Crusted Mahi Mahi Salad (serves 4)

Dairyfree, Glutenfree, Nutfree

  • I lb of Mahi Mahi fillets
  • 1 Tbsp avocado oil
  • 1 1/2 tsps salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 Tbsp ground coriander
  • 1 Tbsp ground chili powder
  • 2 hearts of romaine chopped
  • ¼ head finely shredded purple cabbage
  • ¼ heard finely shredded green cabbage
  • 1 large avocado pitted and diced into 4 portions
  • 1/2 cup of your favorite jarred salsa or pico de gallo (recipe coming soon!)
  • 1 recipe Creamy Chipotle Dressing (See Below)

Instructions:

Pat Mahi Mahi fillets dry with paper towels.  In a small bowl mixed together all the spices until well incorporated.  Lay fillets out on a plate or piece of parchment paper and sprinkle both sides of each fillet until nicely coated. Pat spices into fish to create a nice crust.  Let the fillets hang out for a few minutes and soak of the favors while you prep your dressing!  After dressing is prepped, heat the oil in a shallow  pan on medium high heat.  Add the Mahi Mahi to the hot pan and cook for 3 minutes on each side.  While fish is cooking chop up lettuce and cabbage.  Plate lettuce and cabbage on 4 separate plates with the avocado portions.  Once fish is cooked, evenly distribute between the 4 salads.  Top with salsa and Creamy Chipotle Dressing and devour!!

Creamy Chipotle Dressing

Dairyfree, Glutenfree, Nutfree

  • 1 cup of your favorite all natural mayo (I like Hampton Creek “Just Mayo”)
  • juice of 1 1/2 – 2 limes (adjust to desired thickness of dressing)
  • 2 Tbsp of adobo sauce (from a 7oz can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce)
  • 2 tsp of honey
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp of onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp smoked paprika
  • pinch of salt and pepper to taste

Instruction:

Put all ingredients into a glass mason jar, screw on lid and shake until incorporated and smooth!  Let chill in the the fridge while you cook your fish and prep your salad

Leave a Reply

