Lemon Chia Seed Protein Cookies

It’s January….I always have mixed feelings about January.  On one hand it’s depressing because the holidays are over and it’s time to get back to reality, on the other hand it’s kind of exciting to feel like you have a “fresh” start.  I was talking to some girlfriends of mine and we were discussing resolutions.  One friend said she preferred to call them goals because she’s much more likely to carry out a goal than a resolution.  I think it’s true that no matter what time of year it is, it’s always good to have a running list of goals.  I know it’s true that if you make sure to revisit those goals every morning, you’re much more likely to make them happen.  Sorry if I’m annoying anyone by sounding like a motivational speaker, I just prefer to get shit done rather than let it happen to me : )

None of what I just said has anything to do with the recipe I am about to share, it’s just what was on my mind this morning. Now, for a worthy introduction to what I think is a pretty solid protein cookie for my first crack at it.

When I was a  kid, one of the ladies that went to our church made this killer poppy-seed bread that she would give it to us as gifts on our birthdays.  It was moist and dense and the top was covered in this amazing sugary glaze.  The inner fat kid in me has always looked forward to holidays for the food above anything else so I have been a huge poppy-seed bread fan ever since.  As I have learned to adapt my diet to ward off tummy issues and keep my energy high, I’ve tried to find ways to capture my favorite flavors in food that is actually helpful to body and not harmful.  As an ultra-runner, this is ever so important and I have found I need a ton of protein.  I  decided to created these cookies to capture the flavors I’ve loved since childhood and pack a mean protein punch.  I hope you enjoy them!!

Lemon Chia Seed Protein Cookies 

Paleo, Gluten Free, Soy Free, Low Sugar    /  Makes 6 nice sized protein bombs!

 Ingredients

Lemon Chia Seed Protien Cookies

  • ½ cup Quest Multi Purpose Protein Powder (this protein powder is unsweetened, if using a sweetened protein powder reduce coconut sugar to 1/4 cup)
  • ¼ cup coconut flour
  • ½ cup almond meal/flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • pinch of sea salt
  • ½ cup coconut sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • ½ tsp lemon extract
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (about 1.5 lemons)
  • ¼ cup melted coconut oil

Directions:

Measure all dry ingredients into a medium bowl and whisk together until incorporated.  In a separate bowl whisk egg and egg yolk and then add coconut sugar and the rest of the wet ingredients and mix until smooth(ish) .  Pour wet ingredients into the medium bowl with the dry ingredients and mix together to a dough like consistency.  Form ingredients into a ball, wrap plastic, and let hang out in the fridge for 30 minutes for flavors to develop.  In the meantime, heat your over to 350 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Remove the dough from the fridge and roll into 6 evenly sized cookies.  Cookies won’t spread out much so you can place them fairly close together.   Bake for 10 – 12 minutes for a soft cookie.  Remove from oven and let cool completely.  If you have leftovers, store them in a airtight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

