Super Filling Breakfast Casserole

egg casserol 3First of all I apologize for the crappy photo….they’ll get better I promise but right now I’m busy chasing too many other hobbies to add food photography to the list!  Thank you for loving me anyway!

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but I’m in the process of training for my 3rd ultra marathon.  With over 8,700 feet of elevation gain and loss on 50 miles of trails, this will no doubt be my toughest race yet.  Here’s the link if you are interested in checking it out:

http://www.seattlerunningclub.org/Events/WR50/

I actually want to finish the race alive so I decide to hire a personal trainer to help me build some new muscles. So on top of running 75+ miles  per week and working a full time job, I am also getting my ass handed to me bi-weekly by a tiny little fitness Nazi whom I adore!  After only a month of training sessions, I am getting stronger, faster, and tougher.  I knew I had a lot to work on strength wise but I thought I was doing pretty good nutritionally.  I’ve been loosely following the Paleo diet and feeling pretty good.  This being said, once I met with my trainer and took a closer look at what I was burning vs. what I was taking in I realized that I needed to be eating quite a bit more especially in carbs.  I’ve started adding in more sweet potatoes, brown rice, and oats and suddenly I’m super woman!

This recipe was born out of my boredom of eggs, bacon, & fruit + a protein bar for breakfast morning after morning.  I really love to eat and with the amount of food I have to shove down my pie hole I need variety!  This breakfast casserole can be thrown together in less than an hour on Sunday afternoon and voila! you have breakfast handled for the rest of the week! Enjoy!!

Super Filling Breakfast Casserole

Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Avocado Oil
  • ½ sweet onion diced
  • 1 red bell pepper diced
  • 1 green bell pepper diced
  • 1 clove fresh garlic crushed
  • 1 bag of Fresh baby spinach
  • 1 16 oz carton liquid egg whites
  • 15 oz uncooked chicken breakfast sausage
  • 14 oz roasted red potatoes (try the freezer section at Trader Joes)
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan & Romano cheese
  • ½ tsp ground sage
  • ½ tsp ground thyme
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  In a large skillet heat Avocado oil.  Add in onion and peppers and cook until browned and translucent.  Season with salt and pepper.  Next add in garlic and chicken sausage and cook until sausage is no longer pink.  Toss in the spinach, sage, and thyme and let it wilt.  Turn off skillet and set aside.  Spray a 9×11 inch baking dish with non stick spray and sprinkle roasted potatoes evenly all over the bottom.  Add the chicken sausage and vegetable mixture on top, sprinkle evenly with the cheese, and pour the liquid egg whites over the top. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes until set.  Remove from oven and let cool completely before refrigerating.

Leave a Reply

