30 Things I’ve Learned in My 30’s

I know this is suppose to be a cooking blog but I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit due to massive job stress in the past year and taking time to reevaluate what I want my life to look like.  In the process of doing all this, I’ve scored myself a new job and am in the process of creating a better quality of life.  This. Is. A. Process.  I’ve been really reflecting on all the changes in my thinking and have discovered that the light really came on around age 30. I’m not sure why, but as a result my 30’s have been my favorite!  I turned 35 about a month ago and decided it would be fun to shoot one lesson out each week with hopes of enlightening and encouraging people. Also I plan to start sharing recipes again very soon.  Nourishment to body and mind!!

Things I’ve learned in My 30’s: Please note that this is a list of stuff I’ve learned NOT stuff I made up and want to take full credit for. I am a voracious reader/audiobook & podcast listener always looking for new information to improve myself and the outcomes I’m looking for.

  1. I am not “lucky”…….no one is just “lucky”.  I once had a woman complain to me about her weight and health as if it were something totally out of her control.  I tried to encourage her to eat whole foods and start moving more and her response was:  “It’s easy for you, you’re just lucky to be naturally thin”.  I know she was trying to pay me a compliment but it made my blood boil.  I counted to 3 and kindly explained that I work my ass and make difficult conscious decision every day to take care of my body and be mindful of what I put in it.  No one in my family is naturally thin or fit and most people aren’t for that matter.  It’s taken quite literally blood (I fall a lot when I run), sweat (you sweat a lot in the process of logging 500 training miles) & tears (crying when I’ve felt at the breaking point after weeks of long training runs or forcing myself to do one more set of squats I swear are too heavy for me).                                                                                                         This is true of non health and fitness endeavors as well.  Nothing of value is ever just handed to us.  Anything worth doing generally involves risk (of failure), discomfort, and plain ol’ hard work.  Here’s some examples of things I’ve done over the past 5 years that scared the shit out of me but I did them anyway because I wanted to results.
    1. Filed for divorce from the nicest guy ever. Result: We are both survived and are much happier…yeay!!
    2. Took another crack at a relationship when I was scared to fail again. Result: 3.5 years in and it just keeps getting better!
    3. Signed up and completing 2 Ultra Marathons. Result: I now know that I am capable of doing things I never thought were possible and am mentally and physically stronger!
    4. Took a job in a brand new industry that I was scared I would fail at.  Result: Increased my base salary by 37% and my over all earning potential by 50% in one years time.

 The point is there is no such thing as luck and things don’t just happen to us.  We have to be willing to push ourselves beyond what we ever thought possible to get results.  More on this in lesson # 2 next week!

One thought on “30 Things I’ve Learned in My 30’s

Leave a Reply

