Rustic Autumn Vegetable Stew

Happy Fall!  We’ve had some chilly foggy mornings here in Portland and I’ve been getting up super early to run outside before work.  When I get home, I feel like it takes me all day to warm back up so I decided it was time to break out soup pot and get busy!   When I was a kid my mom always made the most delicious soups all fall and winter long so naturally this is what I crave when the crispy Autumn weather arrives.

I call this a “rustic” stew because I literally threw it together from what I had in my pantry and fridge and what landed in my cart at Trader Joes.  Stuffed with veggies, grains, and beans, this stew is rich and heart and full Fall colors and flavors.  Enjoy!

RUSTIC AUTUMN VEGETABLE STEW ~ Vegan & Gluten Free

Ingredients
1 TBSP avocado oil
2 carrots peeled and chopped
2 celery stalks chopped
1 small sweet onion minced
1 clove of garlic crushed
6 cups water
1 TBSP veggie broth concentrate ( I like Better Than Bullion)
1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes
1/3 cup uncooked quinoa
1 handful of green beans (fresh or frozen)cut into 1 inch pieces
1 small delicate squash unpeeled & chopped
1 small sweet potato peeled & chopped
1/2 bag frozen spinach
1/2 red bell pepper
1/2 can chickpeas drained and rinsed
1 can white beans drained and rinsed
1 small zucchini chopped
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
2 tsp smoked paprika
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions~

Heat the avocado oil in large heavy soup pot over medium heat and add in the diced carrots, celery, and onion to soften (about 10 minutes-stirring every couple of minutes).  Next, add in the garlic and stir until just fragrant (about 2 minutes).  Add the water, broth concentrate, and diced tomatoes and bring up to simmer.  Once a simmer is achieved, add in all remaining ingredients except the canned beans and zucchini.  Bring the stew back up to a simmer for about 40minutes adding the canned beans & diced zucchini for the final 10 minutes of cooking time.  Last, take stew off of heat and let it sit for about 30 minutes (this allows all flavors to come together and will keep you from burning your tongue).  Serve with crackers, toast, or a salad!

Remaining portion should be cooled and will keep in the refrigerator for up to a week.  This recipe also freezes well!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

